Date: 18th February 2010 at 6:40pm
Written by:

Swansea City striker Shefki Kuqi said the decision to retake the penalty at Plymouth on Tuesday night was a ‘disgrace’.

The Swans were denied a deserved win at Home Park 2 days ago as Andrea Orlandi handballed in the area and a penalty was awarded – a decision that the team accepted said Kuqi, but not the decision to have the spot-kick retaken.

The referee’s assistant thought De Vries had come off his line before saving the penalty, so it was retaken, the goalkeeper saved again but Johnson scored from the rebound.

Kuqi, who came on as a second half substitute and was booked in the proceedings, said:

‘I think the lads did an unbelievable job, but the ref absolutely killed us,’

‘When was the last time a referee even looked to see if a keeper is off the line?

‘I just said to the referee, ‘how can you give that?’ Fair play, it was handball so it was a penalty, we accepted that.

‘But to have it retaken is just a disgrace.’

‘He was unbelievable and I can’t understand how a keeper is supposed to stand still.

‘If you don’t move, how are you ever going to get to the ball? You’ve got to give a chance to the keeper.’

‘It was so harsh because we didn’t deserve what we got in the end ? we’ve lost two points.’